
 

 

REVISED LEGAL NOTICE 
STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

 
Behavioral Health Intake and Initial Treatment Planning Rates 

 
 

TAKE NOTICE that the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), 

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek approval 

from the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for amendments to the New Jersey Medicaid 

(Title XIX) State Plan, in order to reflect that New Jersey Medicaid fee-for-service rates 

for behavioral health intakes and initial treatment planning billed by a mental health  or 

substance abuse treatment program are increasing to match increasing market costs 

and improve the delivery of crucial outpatient mental health and addiction services. This 

Notice is revised to correct a typographical error in the previously published Notice.  

Specifically, correcting that the rates for 90792 and any valid modifier combination will 

be increasing from $325 per episode to $438.17 per episode as opposed to the 

previously published $438.10. 

Rates specifically affected are: program intakes and initial treatment planning 

performed by an independent advance practice nurse (90792SA, 90792SA26; a private 

practicing psychologist (90791 or 9079126); an independent psychiatrist (90792 or 

9079226); physician services billed by an independent clinic (substance abuse) or 

office- based addiction treatment physician (billing code 90792HF);  program intakes 

and initial treatment planning that include physician services that are billed by an 

independent clinic (mental health) (billing code 90792UC);  program intakes and initial 

treatment planning performed in an independent clinic (substance abuse) that does not 

include physician services (billing code 90791HF); and, intake assessments and initial 

treatment planning performed in an independent clinic (mental health) without physician 

input (billing code 90791UC).  Rates for 90792 and any valid modifier combination will 

be increasing from $325 per episode to $438.17 per episode and rates for 90791 and 

any valid modifier combination will be increasing from $157.94 per episode to $167.21 

per episode with an effective date of April 1, 2019.  The fee schedule is published on 

the Department’s fiscal agent’s website at https://www.njmmis.com under “rate and 

code information.” 

https://www.njmmis.com/


 

 

DMAHS estimates the increased expenditures for State Fiscal Years (SFY) 2019 

and 2020 will be $2.6m total funds ($0.6m state share) and $7.7m total funds ($1.9m 

state share) respectively. 

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal law and 

regulations, specifically 42 CFR 447.205 and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13).  A copy of this 

Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, 

County Welfare Agencies, and the Department’s website at: 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.  

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this 

notice to:   

Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs 

Attention: Margaret Rose 
Mail Code #26, P.O. Box 712 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712 
Fax: 609-588-7343 

E-mail: Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us 
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